Login  |   Register

On Now
Coming Up

Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF Related Assets
December 12, 2016


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — Denver Broncos outside linebacker DeMarcus Ware was named one of eight finalists for the NFL’s Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, the league announced on Monday.
Ware, who is in his third year with the team and 12th NFL season overall, is a nine-time Pro Bowler and seven-time Associated Press All-Pro selection. He has been named a team captain on eight occasions, including in each of his three seasons with the Broncos.
A player from all 32 teams was nominated for the award, which recognizes those who best demonstrate the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition. The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney Sr.
A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community selected the eight finalists from the 32 nominees. The panel is comprised of Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Leonard Wheeler and Broncos Ring of Famer Karl Mecklenburg.
The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category. From the eight finalists, each team’s players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.
The winner selected by the vote of the players will be announced during the nationally televised NFL Honors show on Saturday, Feb. 4, on FOX, the night before Super Bowl LI. The winner will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. He will also receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.
Player NFL Team Conf. Pos. College NFL Exp.
Brian Cushing Houston Texans AFC LB Southern California 8
Frank Gore Indianapolis Colts AFC RB Miami 12
Greg Olsen Carolina Panthers NFC TE Miami 10
Julius Peppers Green Bay Packers NFC LB North Carolina 15
Darren Sproles Philadelphia Eagles NFC RB Kansas State 12
Joe Staley San Francisco 49ers NFC T Central Michigan 10
DeMarcus Ware Denver Broncos AFC LB Troy 12
Marshal Yanda Baltimore Ravens AFC G/T Iowa 10

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.