Login  |   Register

On Now
Coming Up

Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF Related Assets
January 09, 2016


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — The Denver Broncos have selected starting inside linebackers Brandon Marshall and Danny Trevathan as their 2015 Ed Block Courage Award winners, it was announced.

Each year, the Ed Block Courage Award honors players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage.

Marshall and Trevathan both overcame significant injuries that required surgery in the offseason and combined to start 31-of-32 possible games while finishing as the team’s top two leading tacklers in 2015.

Marshall, who underwent Lisfranc surgery following the 2014 season, opened all 16 regular-season games for the Broncos in the regular season and topped the 100-tackle mark (101) for the second consecutive year to rank second on the team in that category. He also added 1.5 sacks (10.5 yds.), nine tackles for a loss, one interception (0 yds.), four passes defensed and two forced fumbles.

Trevathan, who played only three games in 2014, had reconstructive surgery on his kneecap during the offseason. He returned this year to start 15 games and lead the Broncos with 110 tackles (74 solo) to go along with two interceptions (39 yds.) and six passes defensed.

The Ed Block Courage Award is named in honor of Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts, who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. Recipients are selected by their teammates for exceptional courage, great character and inspiring effort.

The 38th Ed Block Courage Awards recognizing recipients from each of the 32 NFL teams will be held at the Hilton Baltimore on March 12.
Year Player   Year Player   Year Player
1984 Keith Bishop   1995 Dave Wyman   2006 Louis Green
1985 Rulon Jones   1996 Ed McCaffrey   2007 John Engelberger
1986 Rubin Carter   1997 Steve Atwater   2008 Marquand Manuel
1987 Dennis Smith   1998 Tony Jones   2009 Brian Dawkins
1988 Gerald Wilhite   1999 Rod Smith   2010 Ryan Clady
1989 Rick Dennison   2000 John Mobley   2011 Elvis Dumervil
1990 Keith Kartz   2001 Terrell Davis   2012 Chris Kuper
1991 John Elway   2002 Keith Burns   2013 Knowshon Moreno
1992 Dennis Smith   2003 Tom Nalen   2014 Chris Harris Jr.
1993 Simon Fletcher   2004 Dan Neil   2015 Brandon Marshall/
1994 Rondel Jones   2005 Dwayne Carswell     Danny Trevathan

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.