Login  |   Register

On Now
Coming Up
  • Sat., Jan. 21, 2017 1:00 PM MST East-West Shrine Game East-West Shrine Game, Tropicana Field, St. Petersburg, Florida.
  • Sat., Jan. 28, 2017 12:30 PM MST Senior Bowl Senior Bowl, Ladd-Peebles Stadium, Mobile, Alabama
  • Sun., Jan. 29, 2017 6:00 PM MST NFL Pro Bowl NFL Pro Bowl, Camping World Stadium, Orlando, Florida
  • Sun., Feb. 05, 2017 4:30 PM MST Super Bowl LI Super Bowl LI, NRG Stadium, Houston, Texas
  • Wed., Feb. 15, 2017 12:00 AM MST First day to designate Franchise or Transition players First day for clubs to designate Franchise or Transition Players.
  • Tue., Feb. 28, 2017 12:00 AM MST Combine Timing and Testing The Combine begins in Indianapolis and runs through March 6.
  • Wed., Mar. 01, 2017 2:00 PM MST Deadline to designate Francise or Transition Players Prior to 4:00 p.m., New York time, deadline for clubs to designate Franchise or Transition Players.
  • Tue., Mar. 07, 2017 12:00 AM MST Teams may negotiate with their own Unrestricted Free Agents

    During the period beginning at 12 noon, New York time, on March 7th and ending at 3:59:59 p.m., New York time, on March 9th, clubs are permitted to contact, and enter into contract negotiations with the certified agents of players who will become Unrestricted Free Agents upon the expiration of their 2016 player contracts at 4:00 p.m., New York time, on March 9. However, a contract cannot be executed with a new club until 4:00 p.m., New York time, on March 9.

    During the above two-day negotiating period, no direct contact is permitted between a prospective unrestricted free agent and any employee or representative of a club, other than the player’s current club.

  • Thu., Mar. 09, 2017 12:00 AM MST 2017 League Year and Free Agency begin

    The 2017 League Year and Free Agency period begin at 4:00 p.m., New York time.

    The first day of the 2017 League Year will end at 11:59:59 p.m., New York time, on March 9. Clubs will receive a personnel notice that will include all transactions submitted to the League office during the period between 4:00 p.m., New York time, and 11:59:59 p.m., New York time, on March 9.

    Trading period for 2017 begins at 4:00 p.m., New York time, after expiration of all 2016 contracts.

  • Sun., Mar. 26, 2017 12:00 AM MDT Annual League Meeting Annual League Meeting, Phoenix, Arizona.

Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF Related Assets
December 02, 2015


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — The Denver Broncos have selected safety David Bruton Jr. as their Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award recipient, it was announced Wednesday morning. This prestigious award, presented by Nationwide, recognizes a player for outstanding leadership both on the field and in the community.

Also on Wednesday, the club recognized four players as Denver Broncos Community Ambassador Award winners: defensive end Kenny Anunike, tight end Virgil Green, cornerback Chris Harris Jr. and linebacker Brandon Marshall. Cornerback Taurean Nixon was named the Broncos’ Community Rookie of the Year for his contributions to the community in his first NFL season.

Earlier this year, Bruton Jr. founded the David Bruton Jr. Foundation, which supports youth reading programs. Bruton’s Books, the main program of his foundation, helps low-income children in grades K-3 become strong readers through tutoring and by providing books to underfunded schools, libraries and classrooms. In September, Bruton Jr. made a $26,000 personal donation—with $10,000 allocated to AmeriCorps reading tutors—to build literacy programs in Colorado and increase the number of books in schools.

The third-year team captain also serves as the Western Dairy Fuel Up to Play 60 spokesperson, helping educate students on how to lead healthier lives. As part of his work with Fuel Up to Play 60, the seventh-year safety led an assembly at Englewood Middle School in October and discussed how a healthy and balanced diet can improve performance on the field and in the classroom.

n addition to his own charitable efforts, Bruton Jr. is a regular participant in team community events. He volunteers his time for Drive for Life, Hometown Huddle, Taste of the Broncos and events with the Boys & Girls Clubs of Metro Denver.

Bruton Jr.’s selection as the Broncos’ Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award recipient will be recognized during Denver’s home game against Oakland on Sunday, Dec. 13, and Nationwide will make a $10,000 donation to his selected charity. His name will be submitted to the NFL for consideration as the national award winner, which is announced during Super Bowl week.

The NFL’s winner will receive a $50,000 donation to the organization of his choice courtesy of the NFL Foundation and Nationwide ($25,000 from each). Three finalists will be announced in January and will receive $10,000 donations in their names while the other 29 nominees will receive $5,000 donations to their selected charities courtesy of the NFL Foundation and Nationwide.

Previous Broncos nominees for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award include guard Ben Garland (2014), linebacker Wesley Woodyard (2010-11, ‘13), guard Zane Beadles (2012), cornerback Champ Bailey (2008-09), cornerback Domonique Foxworth (2007), wide receiver Rod Smith (2004, ’06), safety John Lynch (2005), linebacker Ian Gold (2003) and wide receiver Ed McCaffrey (2002).

Quarterback John Elway (1992) is the only Broncos player to win the national award, which was first given in 1970 and renamed after the Chicago Bears’ Pro Football Hall of Fame running back in 1999.

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.