Connection Failure

Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF Related Assets
December 31, 2014


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — The Denver Broncos have selected cornerback Chris Harris Jr. as their 2014 Ed Block Courage Award winner, it was announced.

Each year, the Ed Block Courage Award honors players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage.

Harris Jr., who suffered a torn ACL in Denver’s AFC Divisional Playoff Game last season, returned to make his first career Pro Bowl in 2014 after starting every contest for the Broncos and totaling 55 tackles (51 solo), three interceptions (52 yds.), a team-high 18 passes defensed, one sack (2 yds.) and one fumble recovery.

He ranked first in the NFL with a 47.8 quarterback rating against him according to Pro Football Focus and did not allow a touchdown this season as the website’s top-rated cornerback.

In 63 career regular-season games (47 starts), Harris Jr. has totaled 246 tackles (216 solo), 10 interceptions (212 yds.), 47 passes defensed, 3.5 sacks (19.5 yds.), one forced fumble and one fumble recovery. He owns 18 tackles (12 solo) and five passes defensed in four postseason appearances (3 starts).

The Ed Block Courage Award is named in honor of Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts, who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. Recipients are selected by their teammates for exceptional courage, great character and inspiring effort.
Year Player   Year Player   Year Player
1984 Keith Bishop   1995 Dave Wyman   2006 Louis Green
1985 Rulon Jones   1996 Ed McCaffrey   2007 John Engelberger
1986 Rubin Carter   1997 Steve Atwater   2008 Marquand Manuel
1987 Dennis Smith   1998 Tony Jones   2009 Brian Dawkins
1988 Gerald Wilhite   1999 Rod Smith   2010 Ryan Clady
1989 Rick Dennison   2000 John Mobley   2011 Elvis Dumervil
1990 Keith Kartz   2001 Terrell Davis   2012 Chris Kuper
1991 John Elway   2002 Keith Burns   2013 Knowshon Moreno
1992 Dennis Smith   2003 Tom Nalen   2014 Chris Harris Jr.
1993 Simon Fletcher   2004 Dan Neil      
1994 Rondel Jones   2005 Dwayne Carswell      
Connection Failure

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.