Login  |   Register

On Now
Coming Up

Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF Related Assets Bookmark and Share
January 06, 2010


CONTACT: Amy Glanzman, (954) 630-2100, x210

Fort Lauderdale, Fla. — Denver Broncos outside linebacker/defensive end Elvis Dumervil won the NFL Alumni’s award for Pass Rusher as voted by former players, the NFL Alumni announced today.

Dumervil, who became the first Bronco to lead the league in sacks with a team-record 17 in 2009, also added 49 tackles (42 solo), four passes defensed, three forced fumbles and a fumble recovery in his fourth professional season.

The complete list of NFL Alumni Award recipients is listed below:
Coach — Sean Payton, New Orleans Saints

Quarterback — Drew Brees, New Orleans
Running Back — Chris Johnson, Tennessee
Wide Receiver — Andre Johnson, Houston
Tight End — Dallas Clark, Indianapolis
Off. Lineman — Steve Hutchinson, Minnesota

Defensive Lineman — Jared Allen, Minnesota
Pass Rusher — Elvis Dumervil, Denver
Linebacker — Patrick Willis, San Francisco
Defensive Back — Charles Woodson, Green Bay

Special Teams — Joshua Cribbs, Cleveland

The 2009 awardees will be honored at the 28th Annual Player of the Year Awards Dinner on Friday, Feb. 5, at the Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa in Hollywood, Fla. Each recipient will receive his NFL Alumni Player of the Year Award from a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The ten players were selected by a voting process in which former players cast ballots for current players. Former professional football players voted for current players at the positions they once played themselves.

The NFL Alumni is a non-profit organization composed primarily of former NFL players who have joined to advocate for key issues affecting retired players such as medical, financial and career-transition needs while also supporting youth charities.

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.