Login  |   Register

On Now
Coming Up
  • Tue., Feb. 28, 2017 12:00 AM MST Combine Timing and Testing The Combine begins in Indianapolis and runs through March 6.
  • Wed., Mar. 01, 2017 2:00 PM MST Deadline to designate Francise or Transition Players Prior to 4:00 p.m., New York time, deadline for clubs to designate Franchise or Transition Players.
  • Tue., Mar. 07, 2017 12:00 AM MST Teams may negotiate with their own Unrestricted Free Agents

    During the period beginning at 12 noon, New York time, on March 7th and ending at 3:59:59 p.m., New York time, on March 9th, clubs are permitted to contact, and enter into contract negotiations with the certified agents of players who will become Unrestricted Free Agents upon the expiration of their 2016 player contracts at 4:00 p.m., New York time, on March 9. However, a contract cannot be executed with a new club until 4:00 p.m., New York time, on March 9.

    During the above two-day negotiating period, no direct contact is permitted between a prospective unrestricted free agent and any employee or representative of a club, other than the player’s current club.

  • Thu., Mar. 09, 2017 12:00 AM MST 2017 League Year and Free Agency begin

    The 2017 League Year and Free Agency period begin at 4:00 p.m., New York time.

    The first day of the 2017 League Year will end at 11:59:59 p.m., New York time, on March 9. Clubs will receive a personnel notice that will include all transactions submitted to the League office during the period between 4:00 p.m., New York time, and 11:59:59 p.m., New York time, on March 9.

    Trading period for 2017 begins at 4:00 p.m., New York time, after expiration of all 2016 contracts.

  • Sun., Mar. 26, 2017 12:00 AM MDT Annual League Meeting Annual League Meeting, Phoenix, Arizona.
  • Mon., Apr. 03, 2017 12:00 AM MDT Clubs with new head coaches may begin offseason workouts Clubs that hired a new head coach after the end of the 2016 regular season may begin offseason workout programs.
  • Fri., Apr. 21, 2017 12:00 AM MDT Deadline for Restricted Free Agents to sign Offer Sheets Deadline for Restricted Free Agents to sign Offer Sheets.
  • Wed., Apr. 26, 2017 12:00 AM MDT Deadline for prior club to exercise Right of First Refusal to Restricted Free Agents. Deadline for prior club to exercise Right of First Refusal to Restricted Free Agents.
  • Thu., Apr. 27, 2017 12:00 AM MDT 2017 NFL Draft The 2017 NFL Draft begins in Philadelphia and runs through April 29.

Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF Related Assets Bookmark and Share
January 27, 2010


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — Denver Broncos cornerback Champ Bailey and safety Brian Dawkins were two of 12 Pro Bowl players named to the 2000s NFL All-Decade Team, the NFL announced on Wednesday.

The NFL All-Decade teams are chosen every 10 years by the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee members. Bailey and Dawkins are the ninth and 10th players in franchise history to be named to an NFL All-Decade Team, marking the fourth consecutive decade the Broncos have placed at least one player on the team.

Bailey, whose nine Pro Bowl selections for the decade are the most among NFL defensive players, is one of 13 players in NFL history (since 1970 merger) to be selected to nine or more Pro Bowls in a decade. His 41 interceptions since 2000 rank first among league cornerbacks and third overall. He was the runner up for the 2006 NFL Defensive Player of the Year honors, as he recorded career highs in tackles (98), interceptions (10) and passes defensed (30). 

“This is one of the greatest honors that you can have in this league other than team things,” Bailey said. “As far as personal goals, this one never really crossed my mind. You always try to be the best you can be. I would like to thank my family, teammates and coaches for helping me achieve this tremendous award. I would not be where I am without them.”

Dawkins, who was named a Pro Bowl starter this season, has seven Pro Bowl selections to his credit for the decade to tie John Lynch for the most among league safeties during that span. His 26 forced fumbles since 2000 are the most by a safety in the NFL and his 24 interceptions are the seventh most by a player at his position for the decade.

“This is a tremendous honor for me to be recognized as one of the best out of all the safeties who have played in the NFL this decade,” Dawkins said. “To know I’ve been able to do the things I’ve been able to do, with the help of my teammates, to earn a spot on the league’s All-decade team means a lot.”

The rest of the 2000s NFL All-Decade Team will be announced during the 2010 Pro Bowl on Sunday. The game will be broadcast live on ESPN at 7:20 p.m. EST from Sun Life Stadium in South Florida.

1970s Louis Wright CB 1975-86
  Rick Upchurch KR 1975-83
1980s Rick Upchurch KR 1975-83
1990s Steve Atwater S 1989-98
  Terrell Davis RB 1995-2002
  John Elway QB 1983-98
  Shannon Sharpe TE 1990-99, '02-03
  Neil Smith DE 1997-99
  Gary Zimmerman* T 1993-97
2000s Champ Bailey CB 2004-Pres.
  Brian Dawkins S 2009-Pres.
* - Also named to 1980s NFL All-Decade Team with Minnesota


You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.