Login  |   Register

On Now
Coming Up

Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF Related Assets
April 19, 2011


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — Two nationally televised games, including a home opener against the Oakland Raiders on Monday Night Football, and matchups with three of the four 2010 conference championship game participants highlight the Denver Broncos’ 2011 regular-season schedule, which was released by the National Football League on Tuesday.

Denver will open the season at home for the first time since 2004 when it hosts Oakland on Monday, Sept. 12, at 8:15 p.m. MDT in its 63rd all-time appearance on Monday Night Football. The Broncos will be appearing on programfor the 20th consecutive year, extending the NFL’s longest active streak and representing the second-longest overall streak in league history.

A matchup against Cincinnati (Sept. 18) at INVESCO Field at Mile High the following week will mark the first time since 1998 Denver will open the season with consecutive home games.

The Broncos will play a pair of road contests at Tennessee (Sept. 25) and at the defending Super Bowl-champion Green Bay Packers (Oct. 2) in Weeks 3-4. The game against Green Bay marks the 12th consecutive year the Broncos will play one of the previous season’s Super Bowl teams. Denver will continue AFC West divisional play at home the following weekend against San Diego (Oct. 9) before its Week 6 bye (Oct. 16).

A road contest at Miami (Oct. 23) and a home game against Detroit (Oct. 30) precede a stretch of four away games in five weeks for the Broncos. Denver will play consecutive AFC West road games against Oakland (Nov. 6) and Kansas City (Nov. 13) before a short turnaround to play the Jets on Thursday, Nov. 17, on NFL Network. The Broncos will play at San Diego (Nov. 27) and at Minnesota (Dec. 4) in the third and final multi-game road trip of the season.     

Denver will play three home games in the season’s final four weeks, beginning with matchups against Chicago (Dec. 11) and New England (Dec. 18). The Broncos will wrap up the regular season against Buffalo on Christmas Eve (Saturday, Dec. 24) before returning home to host Kansas City on New Year’s Day.

The 2011 regular-season schedule features six games against five clubs that qualified for the playoffs last year. Its regular-season opponents had a combined record of 133-123 (.520) in 2010.

In accordance with the NFL’s flexible scheduling plan, the Broncos’ schedule may include additional prime-time games late in the season. All NFL games scheduled for Sunday from Weeks 10-17 are eligible to be moved to the Sunday night game, which is televised nationally by NBC.

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.